CBC Championship Tennis (Series) (1967-1968)

Six of the world's top amateur tennis players competed in two round-robin competitions in 1967 and 1968. The players in the 1967 series included Ronald Barnes, Manuel Santana, Nikola Pilic and Roy Emerson. The players in 1968 were Samanathan Krishnan, Tom Okker, Manuel Santana, Thomas Kock, Vic Seixas and Mike Belkin. Each week through, two of these six players met in a best of three sets. In the final week the two players who won the most matches met for the championship.

Bob McDevitt of CBC Montreal and Bob Bedard provided play-by-play and color commentary for all the matches. CBC's host for the series was Alex Trebek. All matches in the series were played at the Civil Employees Tennis Club in Quebec City.

Alex Trebek .... Host
Bob McDevitt .... Commentator
Bob Bedard .... Commentator

Original Broadcaster(s): CBC

Rate this program
1 vote

Like Us On Facebook

Log In

Donate with PayPal

Please consider a donation to assist us in maintaining this website.

For an in-depth look at CBC programs (1952-82),
Blaine Allan's directory